Board of Commissioners
Commission The Rowan County Board of Commissioners consists of five (5) members who are elected at large in countywide elections to serve four-year staggered terms.

The Board’s main purpose is to maintain fiscal responsibility while providing mandated services as set out in the General Statutes and for additional services as passed on to the County by state and federal governments.  The Board is also responsible for setting policies, goals and objectives to direct the County's growth and development; adopting and providing for ordinances, rules and regulations as necessary for the general welfare of County citizens and other services deemed appropriate and necessary by the Board.

Meeting Schedule and Location

The Board of Commissioner's regular business meetings are scheduled in 2017 for the first Monday of each month at 3:00 p.m. and the third Monday of each month at 6:00 p.m., with the following exceptions:

  • Change the January 2, 2017 Meeting to Tuesday, January 3, 2017
  • Change the January 16, 2017 Meeting to Tuesday, January 17, 2017
  • Change the September 4, 2017 Meeting to Tuesday, September 5, 2017


The regular business meetings are open to the public and are held in the J. Newton Cohen, Sr. Room located on the second floor of the J. Newton Cohen, Sr. Rowan County Administration Building, 130 West Innes Street, Salisbury, North Carolina, unless otherwise stated.

Copyright 2008 - 2015 Rowan County, NC  SITE MAP   |   TERMS OF USE   |    PRIVACY STATEMENT