EMS Division Awards

Rufus H. Honeycutt, Jr. Medical Responder of the Year Award

Rescue Squad-EMS Medical Achievement Recognition Award

Salisbury Rotary Community Service Award

Rufus H. Honeycutt, Jr. Medical Responder of the Year Award

Rufus Honeycutt
This annual award is given each year during National EMS Week to a Rowan County Medical Responder who has made significant contributions to the County's EMS system over the last year. Nominations are given by Department personnel. The award is named after former County Commissioner Rufus Honeycutt, who was instrumental in establishing a higher level of emergency medical care to the citizen's of Rowan County by the creation of a county EMS service in 1984. Honeycutt continued to be an on-going advocate of EMS - helping to promote the service's improvements from EMT to Paramedic level of care.

2006 Dr. Ronnie Barrier
Liberty Fire Department
2007 Eric Albright
Enochville Fire Rescue
Eric Albright
2008 Keith Deal
Atwell Fire Department
2009 Trey Hoshall
Cleveland Fire Department

2010 Katie Watkins
Union Fire Department

2011 Mike Zimmerman
Bostian Heights Fire Department

2012 Robert Burleyson
South Salisbury Fire Department

2013 Earl Parris
Locke Fire Department

2014 George Stewart
Atwell Fire Department
2015 Charles Haas
Bostian Heights Fire Department

Rescue Squad-EMS Medical Achievement Recognition Award

This annual award is given in December of each year to a member of the Rowan County Rescue Squad, who has contributed significantly over the previous year in assistance and support for providing backup and coverage to the County's EMS Division. Nominations are received from Department peers.

1996 Tracy Winecoff
1997 Charles Ridenhour
1998 Tommy Hodges
1999 Coyt Karriker
2000 Mike Holshouser
2001 David (Davi) Earnhardt
2002 Coyt Karriker
2003 Nick Goodman
2004 Linda Basinger
2005 David (Davi)Earnhardt
2006 Tammy Yon
2007 Eddie Cress
2008 Linda Basinger
2009 Justin Small
2010 Allen Carlyle
2011 Dell and Crystal Blevins and
2012 Johnny Weddington
2013 Mike McDaniel
2014 LuAnne Cress
2015 Marcus Stodard

Salisbury Rotary Community Service Award

This program consists of two awards that recognizes EMS Division's Rookie and veteran of the year for distinguished service to the citizens of Salisbury and Rowan County. Nominations are gathered and submitted by the Division's supervisors. The awards are presented in May of each year by the Salisbury Rotary Club.

Veteran of the Year
2004 Lennie Cooper
2005 Lawrence Kersey
2006 TJ Brown
2007 Renee Green
2008 Kevin Nail
2009 Althea Smith
2010 Aaron Thurston
2011 Crystal Linker
2012 Sally Kersey
2013 Renoda Burns
2014 Robbie Fox
2015 William Hamrick
2016 D. Reid Overcash

Rookie of the Year
2004 Carrie Newton
2005 Daniel Robinson
2006 Joey Sivula
2007 David White
2008 Monica Evans
2009 Daniel Hallman
2010 Chris Warr


2011 Kristin Estep
2012 Erich Byrd
2013 James Hewitt
2014 Selina Rodriguez
2015 Dustin Earnhardt
2016 Lindsay Campbell
Ambulance Billing » Awards » History » Medical Director » Medical Responders » Rescue Squad » Safe Kids » Station Locations » Links » Public Awareness
Copyright 2008 - 2015 Rowan County, NC  SITE MAP   |   TERMS OF USE   |    PRIVACY STATEMENT