The Rowan County Planning & Development Department is responsible for administering and enforcing the flood damage prevention program for the county jurisdictional area and the municipal and ETJ areas of the towns of China Grove, Cleveland, East Spencer, Faith, Granite Quarry, Landis, Rockwell, and Spencer through an interlocal agreement.  Contact the cities of Kannapolis or Salisbury for inquiries within their jurisdiction.

Did You Know? Approximately 9% of the land area in Rowan County is located within a regulated floodplain.  To determine if your property is located within a floodplain, visit the Rowan County GIS site.

Development within or Adjacent to a Floodplain - See the attached FAQs for details.

Process to Obtain a Building Permit.  A floodplain determination must be made for all new development prior to the issuance of a building permit.  These determinations are noted either on a zoning permit issued for projects in the county jurisdiction or by a "flood stamp" the Planning & Development Department affixes to a municipal zoning permit.  Other development which does not require a zoning and / or building permit may still be subject to the issuance of a development permit.  Contact the Planning & Development Department at (704) 216-8588 for more details.

Related Documents
Flood Damage Prevention Ordinance
Development Permit
Elevation Certificate and Instructions (Residential)
Floodproofing Certificate (Non-residential)

Citizen guide to understanding what floodplain management is and why floodplain development is regulated.

Technical Documents

Flood Insurance Study (Vol. 1)
Flood Insurance Study (Vol. 2)
Flood Insurance Study (Vol. 3)

Flood Links
Flood Risk Information System - (FRIS)
NC Flood Maps 
Community Status Book