The Rowan County Historic Landmarks Commission is a recommending body of seven (7) members appointed by the Rowan County Board of Commissioners. The purpose of the commission is (1) to enhance the environmental and aesthetic quality of neighborhoods, as well as the rural areas of the county; (2) to strengthen the economic base by the stimulation of the tourist industry; and (3) to establish and improve property values by generating an improved appearance in older, transitional areas. Meetings are held in the Planning & Development Department conference room on the 2nd Tuesday of each month at 4:00 PM.

Have a landmark in mind? Please submit a completed Historic Landmark Application.

Current Members
Patricia Beck
Karen Lilly-Bowyer - Chairman
Betsy Cunningham
Holden Sides
Susan Sides - Vice-chairman

Questions? Contact the Planning and Development Department at (704) 216-8588 or refer to the

Historic Landmarks Ordinance

1903 Map of Rowan County

1930 Map of Rowan County

Full size color copies may be purchased for $9.00 at the Planning Development Department. Contact Adrian Rollans at 704.216.8605 or to order.