House Bill 562 Amend Fireman Laws - Press Release
Purchase Permit: Effective September 3, 2013
North Carolina purchase permits allow you to purchase a firearm in North Carolina. NC law allows for the purchase of a single handgun with a single valid purchase permit.
- Fill out a Purchase Permit Application. Come to the Sheriffs Office Located at:
- Present valid Driver's License with correct address.
- Pay in cash $5.00 per permit (in advance/non refundable if denied). No limit on number of permits.
- Permits are good for five (5) years. Apply as many times with no 30 day waiting period.
- Call 704-216-8700 for more information.
Concealed Handgun Permit-New: (Only available at the Landis Office)
In July 1995, the North Carolina General Assembly enacted a Concealed Carry Handgun law that allows qualifying citizens the opportunity to obtain a permit to carry a concealed handgun.
- Complete an approved Firearms Safety and Training Course. (We do not teach this class at the Sheriff's office, but we can provide you with a list of qualified instructors in Rowan County.)
- Make an appointment to go to the Landis Sheriff's Office to complete your application process. Call 704-216-8742 to set up your appointment.
- You may fill out the Application Form prior to your appointment if you wish to do so.
- On the day of your appointment you will need:
- Original Certificate from Firearms Course
- Pay in cash or check $90.00
- Valid Driver's License with correct address
All other forms will be explained to you, completed and notarized during your appointment. You will also be fingerprinted at this time.
Concealed Handgun Permit-Renewal: (Only available at the Landis Office)
Renewals need to be applied for 60 to 90 days prior to your expiration. Do NOT let your permit expire.
- Make an appointment to go to the Landis Sheriff's Office to complete your renewal process. Call 704-216-8742 to set up your appointment.
- On the day of your appointment, all forms will be completed and explained to you and notarized.
- If you have been in the military, we will need a copy of your DD-214 If it was not provided earlier.
- Pay cash or check $75.00 on the day of your appointment.
CCH Instructors Rowan County 2016
Most Common Firearms Law Questions
NC Firearms Laws.pdf
CCH Application Form.pdf
“DO’S AND DON’TS” OF CARRYING A CONCEALED HANDGUN
1. Your permit to carry a concealed handgun must be carried along with valid identification whenever the handgun is being carried and concealed.
2. When approached or addressed by any law officer, you must disclose the fact that you have a valid concealed handgun permit and inform the officer that you are in possession of a concealed handgun. You should not attempt to draw or display either your weapon on your permit for the officer unless and until he/she directs you to do so. Your hands are to be kept in plain view and you are not to make any sudden movements.
3. At the request of any law enforcement officer, you must display both the permit and valid identification.
4. You may not, with or without a permit, carry a concealed weapon while consuming alcohol or while alcohol or any substance, controlled or otherwise, is in your blood unless the substance was obtained legally and taken in therapeutically appropriate amounts.
5. You must notify the sheriff who issued your permit of any address change within thirty (30) days of the change of address.
6. If a permit is lost or destroyed, you must notify the sheriff who issued the permit and you may receive a duplicate permit by submitting a notarized statement to that effect, along with the required fee. Do NOT carry a handgun without it.
7. Even with a permit, you may NOT carry a concealed handgun in the following areas:
a. Any law enforcement or correctional facility;
b. Any space occupied by State or Federal employees;
c. Any premises where the carrying of a concealed handgun is prohibited by the posting of a statement by the controller of the premises;
d. Public educational property, however a permittee may secure a handgun in a locked vehicle;
e. Areas of assemblies or demonstrations;
f. State occupied property;
g. Any State or Federal courthouse;
h. Any area prohibited by federal law;
i. Any local government building if the local government has adopted an ordinance and posted signs prohibiting the carrying of concealed weapons;
8. If you are in a vehicle and stopped by an enforcement officer, you should put both hands on the steering wheel, announce you are in possession of a concealed handgun and state where you have it concealed, and that you are in possession of a permit. Do NOT remove your hands from the wheel until instructed by the officer.
North Carolina Department of Justice/Criminal Division REVISED OCTOBER 1, 2013 FOR MORE INFORMATION GO TO: hhtp://www.ncdoj.com
NOTE: If you move, it is YOUR responsibility to contact this office to complete a change of address form.
The address on your NC Driver's License and your Concealed Carry Permit MUST MATCH to be valid.