EMS Division

Duties & Responsibilities

Rowan County’s Emergency Medical Service (EMS) division is a countywide paramedic level EMS organization, founded in 1984, and operates from 7 station locations in various geographic regions within the county. It is partially funded by general tax revenues and partially by fees charged to users. The service is licensed by the North Carolina Office of Emergency Medical Services (OEMS).

Advanced Life Support (ALS) Program

The ALS program functions under the medical direction of Doctors Ronnie Barrier and Bertrand Fote and in cooperation with Novant Health-Rowan Medical Center. The division utilizes a standardized application of treatment guidelines and protocols (PDF) approved by the State of North Carolina for proper care and treatment of patients.

Air Medical Helicopters

Rowan County is served by air medical helicopters from regional Level I trauma centers at Wake Forest University Baptist Medical Center in Winston-Salem and Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte. Both flight services work in concert with each other to provide rapid transport of critically ill or injured individuals from local hospitals and incident scenes across the county to the respective trauma center.

EMS Regional Advisory Committees (RACs)

The EMS Division actively participates in EMS RACs, coordinated and hosted by both trauma centers, to provide coordination in overall trauma planning to the county and region. The Triad RAC is coordinated through three trauma centers of Baptist Hospital, Moses Cone Hospital and High Point Regional Hospital. The Metrolina RAC is coordinated through Carolinas Medical Center in Charlotte.