Foster Parents Needed!
There is an urgent need for foster parents to care for Rowan County children! Caring individuals are needed to provide temporary homes to children in foster care in Rowan County.
Receive a free informational packet by calling 704-216-7914 or Email Jon Hunter. Please give your name, mailing address, phone number and email.
What steps do I need to take to become a Foster Parent?
First Step: View this brief online orientation for prospective North Carolina foster parents: http://ncswlearn.org/foster. All prospective foster parents must view this orientation. You will receive a training certificate showing that you have viewed this orientation. Print the certificate and bring it with you to the Prospective Foster Parent Informational Meeting. 2017 Meeting Dates are: June 6, August 8, October 3, and December 5. All meetings are held at 1813 E. Innes Street, Salisbury beginning at 5:30pm-7:30pm.
Suggested Step: Watch “Foster Hope, Foster Love, Foster Families.” In this video, licensed foster parents discuss their reasons for becoming foster parents and the challenges and rewards of providing foster care. Jimmy Wayne, a county music star who spent time in foster care in North Carolina, narrates the video. (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6UGSkwFvYM&feature=youtu.be).
North Carolina state law requires that all foster homes be licensed to care for children in their care. These licenses are issued by the N.C. Department of Health and Human Services, Division of Social Services (Licensing Authority). These “supervising agencies” (DSS) help potential foster parents navigate the licensing process and provide them with ongoing supervision and support after they are licensed.
To be licensed to provide foster care individuals must meet many requirements, some of these include the following:
- Foster parents must be at least 21 years old. There is no upper age limit.
- Families must have adequate income to financially support themselves without relying on the foster care payment. The foster care payment is strictly a reimbursement for expenses related to providing room, board, and supervision to children in foster care.
- Foster parents must be willing to participate in Shared Parenting, which means working with the families of children placed in your home if your supervising agency determines this is appropriate.
Training Before Licensing
- All applicants must participate in and complete 30 hours of training before they can be licensed. This training will be provided by the supervising agency the applicant selects. The frequency and times for this training varies from agency to agency.
- Prospective therapeutic foster parent applicants must complete an additional 10 hours of training before they can be licensed. Most therapeutic foster care agencies use a course called Becoming a Therapeutic Foster Parent.
The Physical Home
- The applicant’s home must pass a fire inspection. Your supervising agency will provide information about how to attain a fire inspection in your community.
- The applicant’s home must pass an environmental and health regulations check; this check will be conducted by your supervising agency.
- The foster home must have a working telephone.
- The foster home must provide each child with their own personal bed.
- Applicants and household members must meet minimum physical and mental health requirements as indicated by a physical examination completed by a licensed medical provider.
- All family members 18 years old and up must have a TB skin test. Children in the family are tested for TB only when an adult in the family tests positive for TB.
- NC law requires a criminal history check be conducted on all foster parent applicants and all adult members (18 years old and up) who reside in the home. Each adult must meet licensing requirements according to NC General Statue 131D. Fingerprints are used to check State Bureau of Investigation (SBI) and Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI) records to determine whether individuals meet these requirements.
- Applications to provide foster care will be denied if applicants or household members are registered on the NC Sex Offender and Public Protection Registry or the Health Care Personnel Registry.
- Records from local courts and the NC Department of Corrections must be checked for all adult household members.
- With the assistance of DSS, all foster parent applicants must complete a licensing application and a mutual home assessment (home study).