Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
2020 ROWAN COUNTY PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX LISTING
The Rowan County Assessor’s office reminds all Rowan County residents who own taxable personal property on January 1, 2020 that they are required by law to list their property with the Assessor’s office. Any property owner who fails to file a listing is subject to a late listing penalty of ten percent (10%) of the principal taxes due.
REGULAR LISTING PERIOD
The regular listing period will begin on January 1, 2020 and continue until January 31, 2020. If you filed a personal property listing for the past year you should receive a listing form in the mail. If you do not receive a listing form by mail you can obtain a form at the Rowan County Assessor’s Office at 402 N. Main Street, Ste. 201 Salisbury, or call 704-216-8558 for information and assistance. This location will be the only site where tax forms and tax listing assistants will be available. Office hours are Monday through Friday 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM. Forms are also available on our website (www.rowancountync.gov).
In accordance with North Carolina law, the following personal property must be listed for property taxes each January; unlicensed (untagged) motor vehicles of all kinds, including idled or wrecked vehicles; multi-year/IRP trailers, motorcycles or antique cars, trucks or tractors; single wide manufactured homes; boats/ motors; all types of watercraft; all types of aircrafts. Equipment used in a business is also considered to be personal property and must be listed. All taxable personal property listed or discovered after January 31, 2020 will be subject to a ten (10%) percent penalty for late listing.
REGISTERED (TAGGED) MOTOR VEHICLES
Please don’t list any Registered (tagged) motor vehicles on the listing form. Registered (tagged) motor vehicles are billed separately from real and other personal property. Tax bills for Registered (tagged) motor vehicles will be issued shortly after your vehicle registration renewal date and are paid at time of registration renewal at your Local License Plate Agency (DMV) Office.
APPLICATION FOR PROPERTY TAX RELIEF
Elderly or Disabled Exclusion (G.S. 105-277.1)
North Carolina excludes from property taxes a portion of the appraised value of a permanent residence owned and occupied by North Carolina residents aged 65 or older or totally and permanently disabled whose income does not exceed $31,000 for the previous year. The amount of the appraised value of the residence that may be excluded from taxation is the greater of twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or fifty percent (50%) of the appraised value of the residence. Income means-All moneys received from every source other than gifts or inheritances received from a spouse, lineal ancestor, or lineal descendant. G.S. 105-277.1 (Page 4). For married applicants residing with their spouses, the income of both spouses must be included, whether or not the property is in both names.
If you received this exclusion in 2019 you do not need to apply again unless you have changed your permanent residence. If you received the exclusion in 2019 and your income in 2019 was above $30,200 you must notify the assessor. If you received the exclusion in 2019 because you were totally and permanently disabled and you are no longer totally and permanently disabled, you must notify the assessor. If the person receiving the exclusion in 2019 has died, the person required by law to list the property must notify the assessor. Failure to make any of the notices required by this paragraph before June 1 will result in penalties and interest.
Circuit Breaker Tax Deferment Program (G.S. 105-277.1B)
Under this program, taxes for each year are limited to a percentage of the qualifying owner’s income. A qualifying owner must either be at least 65 years of age or be totally and permanently disabled. For an owner whose income amount for the previous year does not exceed the income eligibility limit for the current year, which for the 2020 tax year is $31,000 the owner’s taxes will be limited to four percent (4%) of the owner’s income. For an owner whose income exceeds the income eligibility limit ($31,000) but does not exceed 150% of the income eligibility limit, which for the 2020 tax year is $46,500 the owner’s taxes will be limited to five percent (5%) of the owner’s income.
However, the taxes over the limitation amount are deferred and remain a lien on the property. The last three years of deferred taxes prior to a disqualifying event will become due and payable with interest on the date of the disqualifying event. Interest accrues on the deferred taxes as if they had been payable on the dates on which they would have originally become due. Disqualifying events are death of the owner, transfer of the property, and failure to use the property as the owner’s permanent residence. Exceptions and special provisions apply. See G.S. 105-277.1B for the full text of the statute. YOU MUST FILE A NEW APPLICATION FOR THIS PROGRAM EVERY YEAR.
Disabled Veteran Exclusion (G.S. 105-277.1C)
This program excludes up to the first $45,000 of the appraised value of the permanent residence of a disabled veteran. A disabled veteran is defined as a veteran whose character of service at separation was honorable or under honorable conditions and who has a total and permanent service-connected disability or who received benefits for specially adapted housing under 38 U.S.C. 2101. There is no age or income limitation for this program. This benefit is also available to a surviving spouse (who hasn’t remarried) or either (1) a disabled veteran as defined above, (2) a veteran who died as a result of a service-connected condition whose character of service at separation was honorable or under honorable conditions, or (3) a service member who died from a service-connected condition in the line of duty and not as a result of willful misconduct. See G.S. 105-277.1C for the full text of the statute.
If you did not receive exclusion in 2019 but are now eligible, you may obtain a copy of an application from the Assessor’s office. All applications must be filed by June 1, 2020. All three applications for property tax relief are available on Rowan County’s website at www.rowancountync.gov.
AGRICULTURAL, HORTICULTURAL, AND FORESTLAND DEFERMENT APPLICATION
Property owners who received this deferment in 2019 are not required to reapply for 2020 if they continue to qualify under present-use law. All new applications must be received or officially postmarked by January 31, 2020.
INCOME PRODUCING FARM PROPERTY
If you are the owner of an income-producing farm, you must complete a “Rowan County Agricultural Listing form” in order to list your taxable farm equipment. Contact the Business Personal Property Section, Rowan County Assessor’s Office at 704-216-8571 for instructions.
In accordance with Rowan County’s ordinances, all dogs and cats owned as of January 1 of each year must be listed with the Rowan County Assessor’s office. Please notify the Assessor’s Office if you need information or forms.
ATTENTION – NEW BUSINESSES
All businesses opened during 2019 are required to file a business personal property tax return before January 31, 2020. Contact the Business Personal Property section, Rowan County Assessor’s office at 704-216-8571 for information.
Office of County Assessor