Show All Answers
Call 704-216-7753 to check for hangar availability at Mid-Carolina Regional Airport (RUQ). Monthly tie down fees are just $60 per month.
Mid-Carolina Regional Airport (RUQ) boasts some of the lowest fuel prices in the region. Check our homepage under "Current Fuel Prices" tab for the most current rates.
Angel Flight, a non-profit air transport program serving the mid-Atlantic region, needs volunteer pilots to provide patients who are facing medical and financial crisis with free air transportation. Requirements call for a private pilots license, current medical, Instrument Flight Rules (IFR) rating, 250 hours Pilot in Command (PIC) time, 25 hours in type and access to an aircraft (ownership optional). For details, call 1-800-296-3797
We have two providers that offer comprehensive training: Amos Aviation 704-870-8694 and Mid-Carolina Aviation 704-507-7945.
View hours of operation for:
The Adoption Waiting List Form allows adopters interested in animals to be placed on a waiting list. Final adoption process must take place at the Animal Shelter. You must be 18 years old. Bring a legal ID with you. We cannot hold animals for you based on a phone call or email. We accept cash or card, no checks please. Most animals can be taken home the same day.
Because of the number of animals we see, we have to project our space availability and predict a date by which the animal needs to be adopted.
Check the Pet Availability Spreadsheet for the pet's available date and current status (adopted, redeemed, etc.). Please note there are separate tabs for Dogs and Cats at the bottom of the spreadsheet.
For weekend and after-hours emergencies such as aggressive animals, bites, etc., please call 911. During regular operational hours, please contact Animal Enforcement.
Register your lost pet online and you will be emailed automatically when an animal matching what you select is registered as found or shows up at our Shelter.
Learn more about what to do with lost and found animals.
Learn more about lost and found tags, legal obligations to report a found animal, and more on our Lost and Found page.
You will need to contact a Wildlife Rehabilitator from the North Carolina Wildlife Resources Commission. Please note: it is illegal to keep any North Carolina wildlife without a permit and North Carolina law prohibits any native wildlife being kept as pets. This is why we have licensed wildlife rehabilitators. These are volunteers that have the resources to provide care for small mammals, birds, reptiles and some other species until the animal can be released back into their natural habitat.
The Leash Law applies to all animals and requires that the owner maintain "restraint by a leash, harness, or similar effective or humane device that is capable of restraining an animal, or confinement indoors or within a cage, fence, or vehicle or similar secure enclosure." Please talk to your neighbor and try to resolve the issue. If you are unable to resolve the matter, you may contact our Animal Enforcement division to file a complaint.
We are only able to remove wildlife if they are in your living space. Living space does not include your attic, chimney, crawl space, or exterior property. Contact our Animal Enforcement division for more information.
No. Please contact Animal Enforcement for more information.
Do not approach the animals but try to observe from a distance. If you do not see the mother return within 24 hours, please contact Animal Enforcement to retrieve the animals.
No. We are not licensed or equipped to take in injured or sick animals. Check out this link to the NC Wildlife Resources Commission’s page where you can search for a licensed rehabilitator near you.
You will be assigned a voting place within the precinct where you live. A precinct will be assigned by our office when you register or change address and you will be notified by mail. You will receive a voter registration card if you are a new voter or have made changes. The voter card will indicate the name and location of your voting place. You may contact the Elections Office for the location of your voting place by calling 704-216-8140.
You may register to vote in Rowan County if you are:
Download the NC Voter Registration Application (PDF).
One method is Absentee by One-Stop/Early Voting. This method allows any registered voter to cast an absentee ballot in person on select days prior to Election Day. Unlike on Election Day, when registered voters can only vote at their specific precinct, one- stop voting allows registered voters to vote at any one-stop absentee voting site in the county. One-stop sites will have all the ballot styles for a given election at each site. When you present to vote at a one-stop site, you may change your name or address, if it needs to be updated.
A second method is requesting a mail-in absentee ballot. Any Rowan County registered voter who is qualified to vote in an election may request and receive a mail-in absentee ballot for any election in which absentee voting is allowed. No special circumstance or reason is needed to receive and vote a mail-in absentee ballot.
To find out more about Absentee Voting visit the North Carolina State Board of Election website or the Absentee Voting by Mail page.
View the Board of Elections page.
Inactive voters are those voters who do not have a verifiable resident address, as we have had numerous mailings returned to our office marked undeliverable. It could also be that the voter has chosen not to vote in the last election.The "Inactive" voters, if eligible, are still allowed to vote but will need to change or confirm their address. We need to make sure we have voter assigned to the correct voting district and return the voter to active status.
View the complete listing of the Board of Elections on the staff page.
Discover the members and additional information by visiting the Board of Elections Board page.
Provisional voting is a mechanism by which a citizen is guaranteed the opportunity to cast a ballot in the event that such questions have been raised. In that case, the citizen is permitted to cast a provisional ballot, which is held aside pending research into the issue to be resolved. Findings are presented to the county board members, who make final determinations. Election results are not finalized until all provisional ballots that are eligible have been included in the total count.
Provisional voting is fail-safe voting. State law mandates that each person who presents to vote be given that opportunity, whether by regular or provisional ballot. In no circumstance will a voter be turned away.
To find out more about Provisional Voting visit the North Carolina State Board of Election webpage.
The deadline to register, change party or change address occurs 25 days prior to each election.
You may obtain registration forms at the following locations in Rowan County:
You need to complete a voter registration application/change form if you:
A voter registration card will be mailed to you once your registration application has been processed or a change is made to your registration. Keep the card as it may be used to change your address by mail should you move within Rowan County, change your name or change your party affiliation. It can also be used to cancel your Rowan County registration should you move out of the County.
If you do move out of the county, a new registration application will have to be completed and turned in to the county Board of Elections in which you moved. A registration form must be postmarked 25 days before an election or delivered to the Board of Elections no later than 25 days before an election in order to be valid for that election. A registration may be placed in inactive status if a voter card is returned by the Postal Service as undeliverable.
If the lot will be divided, a copy of the newly deeded and recorded plat must be submitted to Environmental Health before a Construction Authorization can be issued. The proposed property lines and dimensions must be included on the application site plan and marked on the site.
Property lines must be clearly marked prior to application submittal. No Construction Authorization may be issued until the property lines have been located by a licensed NC surveyor.
Submit all components of the application to Environmental Health by email or in person at the office.
No, the inspector will not contact the applicant before an evaluation occurs. All site preparations should be completed before applying. Should there be any accessibility issues, the inspector will contact the applicant directly.
No. All applications are placed on a waitlist and are evaluated on a first-come, first-serve basis. The applicant will be contacted once the property is approved or denied. Contact Environmental Health for approximate wait time on soil evaluations.
Payment may be received by phone or in person at the Environmental Health with credit card, cash, or check.
Rowan County is accepting Televisions free of charge. Televisions will only be accepted at this location. Please bring all televisions to our Rowan County Processing Center located at:
1102 N Long Street ExtensionEast Spencer, NC 28039Monday - Friday7 a.m. - 3:30 p.m.
View hours and location/contact information for Rowan County Landfill and Recycling Convenience Centers.
View a list of acceptable materials and discover waste disposal recycling rates.
Paint is accepted during our Annual Special Waste Day in October, or you can call our office for instructions on how to properly dispose of paint.
The Health Department's Environmental Health Division handles all water and well testing.
The Health Department's Environmental Health Division handles the septic permitting process. Learn more about the On-Site Waste Water Program.
Contact the Environmental Management offices.
Mercury containing thermometers are accepted during our Annual Special Waste Day in October, or you can contact our office for more information on how to safely dispose of these items.
Please contact our office for more information on how to safely dispose of non-friable asbestos.
If you observe someone littering, you can report this activity through the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) Swat-A-Litterbug Program. You may also contact the Environmental Management offices.
View a sample Erosion Control Plan by clicking here
If you were married in Rowan County, you may stop by our office and purchase a certified copy for $10 (Cash or money order only). To request a copy by mail, give the names of the groom and bride at time of marriage, the date of marriage, and include a self-addressed, stamped envelope. Requests are mailed the same day received.
Once you decide on an effective date, you will need to contact Kelly Natoli in Human Resources to schedule an appointment to complete the application. This appointment will take approximately 30 minutes. Prior to your appointment, there is a list of items that you will need to have available/bring with you when you come to complete the application and start the process: - Proof of birth for yourself (easiest form that they will accept is a copy of your driver's license) - Beneficiary Information (including full name, social security number, date of birth and proof of birth - again a copy of their driver's license is the easiest thing) - Direct Deposit Information, including bank name, bank address, routing and account number and account type (checking or savings).
All of this information is required and an application can not be mailed until we have all of the items completed on it. You will also need to have an idea of how much vacation you plan to use between the day your sign your application and your actual last working day, as your vacation payout information must be reported on the retirement application.
Sometime during your last month of employment, you should schedule an appointment with Kelly Natoli to go over wrapping up all of your benefits, insurance coverage, and your options on continuing your various benefits after retirement. This "wrap-up" appointment will take approximately 30 minutes.
Once the retirement system receives your application, they will correspond directly with you from that point on. No further correspondence comes from them to the Human Resources Office. You will need to watch your mail closely and quickly respond to any mail from the State of North Carolina Treasurer's Office. Delays in responding to correspondence they send you could delay your first retirement check. You will receive several forms that you need to complete and return:
Some of the forms that you receive do require a notary (we can notarize the forms for you here in our office). If you have questions regarding how to complete any of the forms, please feel free to contact Kelly Natoli to set up an appointment to go over the forms to make sure that they are completed correctly. (We can check for accuracy in completion, we cannot advise you as to which payment option you should choose or how you should fill out your tax withholding forms).
Visit the Meeting Room Reservations webpage.
Rowan Public Library (RPL) patrons can check out up to 50 physical items on their accounts and up to 15 of those can be DVDs.
Computer labs are open at all branches:
Printers are available in each library's computer lab. Items to print can be sent digitally using wireless printing to the library and picked up during open hours.
Call us at 980-432-8670 for assistance.
Materials can still be returned to any library location using designated book drops.
For a specific branch call:
Access RPL's online library card application here.
Yes! Free WiFi is available 24/7 on Library grounds and parking lots.
Dogs are allowed on hand held leashes. Dogs are not allowed on attractions.
All fisherman must have a current N.C. fishing license to fish at Dan Nicholas Park.
Yes, please visit the camping page for our online reservation link.
Salisbury/Rowan Senior Games invites any adult in Rowan County age 50 years or better to participate.
The Therapeutic Recreation division offers ongoing programs for individuals with disabilities which may include, but are not limited to:
The programs have an emphasis participation, socialization, community awareness, inclusion and development of recreation/leisure skills that carry over to the home and community. Programs include:
Learn more about ongoing programs.
Geocachers are allowed to hide caches on Rowan County Park property if they follow rules established by the Rowan County parks. View the rules for hiding geocaches.
Have all road names needed to complete the sign and contact the Planning and Development Department at 704-216-8588 or fill out the Damaged or Missing Street Sign Form. Please note that the County will only put up road signs outside of city limits.
Prior to submitting a rezoning request, applicants are encouraged to meet with a member of the Planning Department to discuss the requested change. The following information must be submitted for consideration:
To file a complaint regarding an ordinance violation, please contact 704-216-8588 or complete a complaint form or minimum housing standards petition and submit it to the Planning and Development Department. The complaint form can be found here. The minimum housing petition can be found here.
Rowan County adopted an Addressing Ordinance (PDF) to ensure that efficient police, fire and emergency service is provided to the citizens of Rowan County. This ordinance requires all new homes to be assigned numbers by the Planning and Development Department staff in accordance with accepted procedures. Planning staff will issue an address at the time a zoning permit is pulled.
Verify that the proposed use is allowed, business location and operations, with the Planning and Development Department by calling 704-216-8588. Planning staff will determine the type of permit that will need to be applied for (Zoning Verification Letter or Zoning Permit).
Developing on a parcel with floodplain will require a development permit to go alongside the zoning permit. Staff will need a site plan with the proposed location of the new building(s). Some sites may require a surveyor to mark the proposed location(s) on the site plan. Once the footers of the new building(s) have been laid, staff will need to verify that the structure(s) are located outside of the floodplain. This is done with an as built survey, but in some circumstances may be done with a site visit by Planning staff. If Planning staff provides a site visit a $50 fee will be charged with the issuing of the development permit.
Special uses are assumed to be generally compatible with other land uses permitted in the zoning district in which the special use is proposed. However, due to their unique characteristics or potential impacts on the surrounding areas or the county as a whole, individual consideration of their location, design, configuration and/or operation at the proposed location is required. Prior to submitting a special use permit request, applicants are encouraged to meet with a member of the Planning Department to discuss the request. The following information must be presented for consideration by the department:
More information SUP
A commercial plan review is required for all commercial projects. The following is a list of departments involved in the review process of commercial projects:
Download Commercial Review Plan (PDF)
To submit payment you can click here.
In cases where a new address cannot fit into the existing address scheme of the road and/or where the inconsistency of addresses are determined to be a public danger, the county may reassign addresses in order to create a consistent range of addresses.
Download and complete the Assumed Business Name Certificate (PDF) or obtain a printed copy at no charge from the Register of Deeds office. Complete the form and return it to the Register of Deeds office for recording either in person or by mail.
The fee is $26 for our standard form.
Any other start-up questions should be directed to the Business Section of the Rowan County Tax Collector’s office at 704-216-8544 or in person.
You can obtain more information on starting a business from Business Link North Carolina.
Yes, if you were born in Rowan County. If you were born in another county in North Carolina after 1971, you may obtain a Statewide Birth Certificate for an additional $14.00 charge - contact the Register of Deeds for details.
If an individual was legally adopted their birth record will be located at North Carolina Vital Records.
You can contact NC Vital Records at: 919-733-3000.
Certified copies of birth certificates for births occurring in Rowan County are issued at the Rowan County Register of Deeds office for $10 cash, with the following exceptions:
Adoptions: If an individual was legally adopted their birth record will be located at North Carolina Vital Records. You can contact NC Vital Records at: 919-733-3000.
Out Of County Births: The Rowan County Register of Deeds Office may also supply birth certificates for those individuals born in another North Carolina County. Applicants must appear in person at the Register of Deeds Office. In addition to the $10 certified copy fee, a search fee of $14 is charged in order to pull certificates from another county. Out of county birth certificates cannot be requested online or via mail and may only be issued if the following criteria are met:
Birth must have occurred in North Carolina
Birth must have occurred 1971-forward
Child must NOT have been adopted
To obtain a certified copy of a vital record in person you may come into our office located at 402 N. Main Street, Suite 102, Salisbury, North Carolina 28144. When requesting a certified copy of a vital record in office you must complete a request form and present a government issued photo I.D. .
To Request a copy via mail:
Submit a Written Request: must include the full name on the certificate at the time of birth, date of birth, your relationship to the person whose birth certificate you are requesting, father’s full name, mother’s full maiden name and a contact number.
A photo copy of your valid government issued photo ID
A self-addressed stamped envelope
A Money Order for $10.00 made payable to the Rowan County Register of Deeds
Rowan County Register of Deeds can only provide copies of birth certificates via mail for individuals born in Rowan County.
You can request a copy online at:
The list is limited to:
Rowan County Register of Deeds can only provide copies of death certificates for individuals whose death occurred within Rowan County. If the individual passed away outside of Rowan County please contact the Register of Deeds Office where the individual’s death occurred.
You may purchase a certified copy of a death certificate for any individual who passed away in Rowan County by visiting the Register of Deeds Office, by mail at: 402 N. Main Street, Suite 102, Salisbury, NC 28144 or online. The cost for a certified copy is $10 cash; please note additional processing fees apply when requesting certified copies online.
To obtain a certified copy of a vital record in person you may come into our office located at 402 N. Main Street, Suite 102, Salisbury, North Carolina 28144. When requesting a certified copy of a vital record in office you must complete a request form and present a valid government issued photo I.D.
Submit a Written Request: must include the name of the deceased, date of death, your relation to the deceased and a contact number.
A photo copy of your government issued photo ID
The list is limited to the following people:
See an attorney. After the documents are drawn and properly notarized, present the documents to the Register of Deeds. The recording fee is $64 for the first 15 pages and $4 for each additional page.
You may stop by the Register of Deeds office to obtain a copy for a fee of $0.50 per page. You need to know the name the property is in and the approximate year it was purchased or recorded.
For a deed of trust/mortgage, you need to know the Grantor. For a power of attorney, you need to know either the grantor or grantee and the approximate year of recording.
Certified copies are $5 for the first page and $2 for each additional page.
If you know the Book and page of the documents, you may request it by mail.
By law, this office does not index any records by street address, thus making it almost impossible to find these desired facts in our records. Contact the Tax Assessor’s office by calling 704-216-8558 for this information. You can also visit them in person at:
402 N Main StreetSalisbury, NC 28144
The following map sizes are acceptable for recording: 18 inches by 24 inches; 21 inches by 30 inches; and 24 inches by 36 inches. Before presenting the map to the Register of Deeds, it must be signed by the Rowan County Review Officer. Ask us about electronically recording maps!
Review Officers are located in the Planning Office and the Tax Assessor’s office on the 2nd floor at:
The fee to record a map is $21 per sheet.
Yes, you receive the original back and the Register of Deeds retains a digital copy.
If you were married in Rowan County, you may stop by our office and purchase a certified copy for $10 (Cash or money order only; ID required). You may also request your copy by mail.
Give the names of the groom and bride at time of marriage and the date of marriage, and include a self-addressed, stamped envelope and a photo copy of your ID. Requests are mailed the same day received.
After receiving your certified copy of the marriage License, go by or mail your certified copy to the Social Security office to get a new Social Security card.
24 hours after this information has been filed with the Social Security Administration, you may then apply for a new North Carolina Driver’s License bearing your new name at any North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) Driver’s License office.
If the divorce was processed in Rowan County, you may obtain a copy by calling 704-797-3001 or from the office of the Clerk of Court located on the 1st floor of the Courthouse at:
210 N Main StreetSalisbury, NC 28144
They are just like any other kids in our community. Most are school aged, between the ages of 5 and 17. Many have brothers and sisters who want to stay together. They are Asian, Bi-racial, Caucasian, African-American, Hispanic, and Native American. Some children require special love, patience and on-going medical/psychological services because they have experienced abuse, neglect, or abandonment.
After receiving the report, the Adult Protective Services (APS) intake worker will review the report with the supervisor to determine if the disabled adult is in need of a protective services evaluation. If so, the APS social worker will visit the adult. The timing of the visit will be determined based on the urgency of the situation. Some visits are immediate, but all visits are made within 72 hours of the report.
If the report is accepted for an evaluation, the investigation will include home visits by the APS social worker and consultation with others who have knowledge of the facts of the particular case. An interview with the disabled adult may be conducted with no other persons present. The Department of Social Services (DSS) works in collaboration with other agencies in the community such as the Health Department, Veterans Affairs (VA) Medical Center, Rowan Regional Medical Center, Sheriff’s Department, other law enforcement agencies, Hospice, home health agencies, and others to gather information during the investigation and to arrange for services if a need is found.
The investigation shall be completed within 30 days for allegations of abuse or neglect, and shall be completed within 45 days for allegations of exploitation. If the report does not meet the criteria to support an APS investigation, but if issues are identified that should be addressed, the report may be accepted for Preventive Outreach services.
If you disagree with the Department of Social Services (DSS) actions regarding the report you made, you may contact, in this order, the following persons to request a higher level review of the report:
You may wish to make another report if you have additional information about the situation. There is no limit on the number of reports that can be made. However, further reports should have additional or new information that was not presented earlier. All reports that do not rise to the level of an investigation are always reviewed a second time at regularly scheduled APS Screening Committee meetings. Committee members reviewing these reports include the APS Supervisor, the APS Program Administrator, and the Adult Services Attorney. The purpose of these reviews is to assure that no report was improperly screened out.
Child Protective Services is a unit within the Department of Social Services (DSS) that investigates child abuse, neglect, and dependency of children from birth to 18 years of age. The purpose of the investigation is to determine:
The law requires everyone to report suspected child abuse or neglect, “Any person or institution who has cause to suspect that any juvenile is abused or neglected or dependent, as defined by General Statute (G.S.) 7B-101, or has died as the result of maltreatment shall report the case of that juvenile to the director of the Department of Social Services, or his/her designee, in the county where the juvenile resides or is found,” (G.S. 7B-310). This reporting requirement applies to professionals such as physicians, psychologist, other health and mental health workers, day care workers, and school personnel. But it applies equally to friends, neighbors, relatives. and anyone else who suspects that a child is abused or neglected.
There are three ways to apply (one application works for Medicaid and Health Choice).
Call Rowan County DSS at 704-216-8330 if one of these methods will not work for you.
A report may be made in person, by telephone, or in writing to the Department of Social Services in your county. The county phone number for making reports is 704-216-8499. Reports may also be made to the state Child Protective Services Division by calling 800-354-KIDS. The Rowan County address is:1813 E Innes StreetSalisbury, NC 28146
Becoming a foster parent starts with an informational meeting and an application packet. Call us at 704.216.8440 to begin your journey!
To apply for Work First family Assistance, please come into agency to the application window. You must complete an application in person and meet with a caseworker to sign the application
To apply for the Crisis Intervention Program (CIP), you can apply in person at the Rowan County Department of Social Services 1813 E Innes Street, Salisbury NC 28146 or a phone interview can be completed at 704-216-8330 and the application mailed to you for your signature.
To apply for the Low Income Energy Assistance Program (LIEAP), you can apply in person at the Rowan County Department of Social Services 1813 E Innes Street, Salisbury NC 28146 or a phone interview can be completed at 704-216-8330 and the application mailed to you for your signature.
Basic Eligibility Requirements;
Medicaid or Health Choice may be available to people who are:
You also must:
Call Rowan County DSS at 704-216-8330 if other accommodations are required.
You may contact the Department of Social Services (DSS) at 704-216-8330 to request an application to be mailed to you, or you may go to the North Carolina Division of Medical Assistance website. You may select from the Adult Medicaid Mail-in, form number DMA-5000, or you may choose the form DMA-5063 for Medicaid for families and children.
DSS cannot accept applications received by fax or email. Your eligibility will be determined by the date of your application. The date of the application is the date a completed, signed, and dated application is received in the DSS in the county where you reside. Once you have completed the application, you may mail the application or bring it in person to:
Rowan County Department of Social Services 1813 E Innes Street Salisbury, NC 28146 Monday through Friday, 7:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Persons receiving Medicaid under the Medicaid for Qualified Beneficiaries coverage group and/or children receiving North Carolina Health Choice are not eligible to receive Medicaid Transportation assistance. To request Medicaid Transportation contact Janice Gray at 704-216-8896.
Rowan County’s last revaluation took place on January 1, 2019.
Rowan County’s next revaluation will take place on January 1, 2023.
Per the North Carolina General Statutes, changes in the market due to general economic conditions (up or down) occurring since the last revaluation date (January 1, 2019) cannot be considered until the next revaluation which is scheduled for January 1, 2023.
Beginning in 2013 the Tag and Tax Together program was implemented to allow property owners to conveniently pay annual vehicle registration fees and property taxes together. Motor vehicles that are registered and tagged are listed with the county automatically after you renew your registration or register a new vehicle. Any unregistered (untagged) vehicles must be listed with the county during the annual listing period in January. Learn more by viewing the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles
You will only receive a refund if you have unused months left on the tag. If you need a refund please furnish the Tax Collector's office with a copy of the North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) Receipt for plate and/or sticker paper and a bill of sale or paperwork showing what you did with the vehicle. Fax paperwork to 704-216-7983. You can also visit or mail it to the Tax Collector's office at:
You must bid on it at public auction at the courthouse. Sales are held monthly. For more information go to
We need a copy of the new state's registration and copy of North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) Receipt for plate and/or sticker paper. Fax paperwork to 704-216-7983. You can also visit or mail it to the Tax Collector's office at:
402 N Main Street Salisbury, NC 28144
Yes! However, it can change from year to year. There is a 1.5% discount for July and 1% in August.
For real estate, individual personal property, and business personal property, taxes are due September 1st for that current tax year. However, you can make prepayments prior to the bills being issued. Rowan County tax bills are mailed in late July to early August. Also, you will be able to receive a discount for any money received prior to September 1st. These taxes will become delinquent after January 5th of the following year and subject to enforced collections efforts.
Payment coupons are included in tax bills and allow citizens to pay taxes in four payments.
Search and/or pay tax bills by visiting the BillBridge Tax Search website.
Please see your bill or receipt. If you need additional information, please call the Tax Assessor office at 704-216-8558.
Yes, mortgage companies received a copy of tax bills that are escrowed.
Although you have agreed to have your property taxes escrowed and paid through your mortgage company, we still mail the property tax bill to the correct owner.
You can get a copy of your property tax card at the Tax Assessor office located at:
Prior to bills being mailed in July you can make prepayments but you must specify they are prepayments or the amount will be refunded back to you. After bills are mailed in July you can make payments at any time. Tax bills are due September 1st and become delinquent after January 5th. Remember, Rowan County does offer discounts for payments in the month of July and August.
You should forward the property tax bill to the new owner unless you are going to pay it. Agreements that are made between buyers, sellers, and attorneys are not our concern. However, since property taxes are a lien on real estate, it is in the buyer’s best interest to make sure all property taxes are settled before the property is purchased at closing. (See back of bill.)
Every year once bills become delinquent they will be advertised in the Salisbury Post. Each receipt will be charged a $5 fee for advertisement.
When property tax becomes delinquent we will garnish wages. We will take 10% of gross pay and apply it to the delinquent taxes. Garnishment fees can be up to $60. We begin the garnishment process the first of March.
Beginning in 2013, the Tag and Tax Together program was implemented to allow property owners to conveniently pay annual vehicle registration fees and property taxes together. Motor vehicles that are registered and tagged are listed with the county automatically after you renew your registration or register a new vehicle. Any unregistered (untagged) vehicles must be listed with the county during the annual listing period in January. Learn more by visiting the North Carolina Department of Motor Vehicles Tag and Tax Together program page.
Receipts will not be sent for mail payments. For proof of payment and income tax purposes, retain the top portion of the bill for your records.
Personal Property is considered to be the following:
Business personal property examples include:
Appeals relating to the value or taxability of personal property must be received within 30 days. Please call the Tax Assessor's office at 704-216-8558 for more information.
If you have sold the real property assessed to you, please notify the new owner of any unpaid taxes.
Disregard the bill, however, it would be appreciated if you would ask your trustee to advise as to the status of your account.
Unpaid tax bills are subject to garnishment, attachment of bank accounts, rents, state funds or lottery winnings, levy or other legal action after January 5th.
A late fee is charged if you did not return your listing form by January 31st or did not return it at all. Please contact Tax Assessors with questions 704-216-8558.
If you have been charged a pet fee and no longer have the pet, contact the Tax Assessor's Office at 704-216-8558.
Please contact the Tax Assessor's Office at 704-216-8558.
Rowan County does not charge the fee; our third party company or merchant charges the fee.
If you are moving a mobile home, you will need a moving permit and all taxes must be paid. Please come to the Tax Collector's office to obtain a permit.
Please contact the Tax Assessor's office with any questions at 704-216-8558.