Board of Commissioners


The Rowan County Board of Commissioners consists of 5 members who are elected at large in countywide elections to serve four-year staggered terms. The Board’s main purpose is to maintain fiscal responsibility while providing mandated services as set out in the General Statutes and for additional services as passed on to the County by state and federal governments. The Board is also responsible for setting policies, goals and objectives to direct the County’s growth and development; adopting and providing for ordinances, rules and regulations as necessary for the general welfare of County citizens and other services deemed appropriate and necessary by the Board.

Regular Meetings


1st Monday of every month3 p.m.
3rd Monday of every month6 p.m.

Please note: Any changes to regularly scheduled meetings will be posted as a Public Notice and also noted on our Meetings calendar.


Meetings are held in the:

Rowan County Administration Building
J. Newton Cohen Sr. Room, 2nd Floor
130 W Innes Street
Salisbury, NC 28144

Remote Meetings

Board of Commissioner meetings are live-streamed and citizens are welcome to participate remotely via Zoom.  Remote meeting details are posted at the top of each meeting agenda.

Citizens may also submit general public comments through our Public Comment Form.


View the Meetings calendar for a list of upcoming meetings as well as any updates to the regular meeting schedule. Sign up for notifications to receive text or email notifications for our Meetings calendar and/or other department news.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to meetings and minutes are posted following Board approval. Archived video and audio recordings of meetings are also available to stream or download following each meeting.