Floodplain Administration

Flood in Rowan County

The Rowan County Planning & Development Department is responsible for administering and enforcing the flood damage prevention program for the county jurisdictional area and the municipal and Extraterritorial Jurisdiction (ETJ) areas of the towns of China Grove, Cleveland, East Spencer, Faith, Granite Quarry, Rockwell, and Spencer through an interlocal agreement. Contact Kannapolis, Landis, or Salisbury for inquiries within their jurisdiction. 

Floodplain Area

Approximately 9% of the land area in Rowan County is located within a regulated floodplain. To determine if your property is located within a floodplain, visit the North Carolina Flood Risk Information System site.

Process to Obtain a Building Permit

A floodplain determination must be made for all new development prior to the issuance of a building permit. These determinations are noted either on a zoning permit issued for projects in the county jurisdiction or by a "flood stamp" the Planning and Development Department affixes to a municipal zoning permit. Other development which does not require a zoning and / or building permit may still be subject to the issuance of a development permit. Development permits that require a site visit will require a $50 fee. Contact the Planning and Development Department at 704-216-8588 for more details.

North Carolina Floodplain Management Quick GuideNorth Carolina Floodplain Management Quick Guide (PDF) Opens in new window

Technical Documents